Fought the Urge of Pasta-Monster

Last evening we had a family cook-out which usually entails mom’s yummy potato salad piled high with everything but the sink, my own macaroni salad, hot-dogs, hamburgers, chicken, and of course – fresh made peach pie. For once – I dreaded this little get together but anticipated the challenge of myself and ability to stick to the plan.

Kudos to me – I stuck my nose up to the salads and instead made chicken salad with celery and tomato, I had a hot dog and a 1/4 lb. hamburger with ketchup fixings without the bun (I didn’t miss it either!) and I casually walked away from the table as everyone gobbled down peach pie envisioning myself a month from now feeling better without the peach pie sitting on my hips. Wonderful. Naturally my family observed my new eating habits – horrified. My mom is the comfort food queen … home cooking and EVERYONE is required to eat until they bust. Thanks to my preparation for questions I eased through the evening without the stress of hearing “Why are you starving yourself?”, “Why are you eating that when you can have THIS?” … it was easier then I thought minus my husband asking “So hunny, you want your roll grilled” – as a joke obviously the man doesn’t cherish his life.

I came home last night totally satisfied with myself and woke up this morning feeling bloated and way full – still. I think I may have over ate last night? I don’t know … but it’s 10 am now and I just ate a boiled egg because I still feel full yet I don’t want to deprive my body of something. Regardless …. I’m sticking to the plan with confidence and determination. Plus 50 sit-ups and a much needed 4 mile walk with my pal … Bear this afternoon. The sun is shining and I’m feeling full. Can it get any better???

Leave a Reply

  • Newest Blatherings

  • Pages

  • Top Clicks

  • Blog Stats

